Rio Grande Football League
Hometown: Abilene/San Angelo, Texas
Home Field: Novice, Texas
Established: 2010
Owner: David Samaniego
Facebook Page

2011: 9-3 Conference Finalist (South Texas Amateur Football League) 
2012: 15-2 League Finalist
 (Cross-Roads Amateur Football League) 
AA State Champion
2013: 14-2 Conference Finalist (Cross-Roads Amateur Football League)
AA State Champion
2014: 13-3 League Champions (Cross-Roads Amateur Football League)

AA National Finalist – Sunshine Bowl
AA State Champion – Lone Star Minor League Football News
AA State Champion – Texas Minor League Football Rankings
2015: 10-2 (Minor Professional Football League)

Team History

The Scorpions hit the ground running with their organization and have been successful in each season. Their well-decorated list of accomplishments includes a national championship appearance, three Top 10 national finishes, four state championships, one league championship and four division titles.

Additional Awards

  • In 2015, David Samaniego was inducted into the Semi-Pro Football Hall of Fame, and in 2016, LB Trae Ivory and DL J.D. Rodriguez were inducted into the Semi-Pro Football Hall of Fame.
  • Following the 2012 season, the Scorpions had six players named First-Team Al Lombardi All-Americans: WR Gary Edwards, DB Josh Davis, LB Paul Munshower, WR/K Shane Hudnell, LT William Gavit, RB Clifton Gathers. Following the 2014 season, five Scorpions were named second and third team Al Lombardi All-Americans, including QB Jonathan Demasters, DL J.D. Rodriguez, LB B.J. Flowers, LB Melvin Henry and LB Trae Ivory.

West Texas Scorpions News